10 Must-Know Social Media Marketing Tips For Beginners

Marie Ennis-O'Connor
5 min readJan 26, 2020

“Every expert was once a beginner.”

I’ve been a social media consultant for the past ten years and I am still as excited by the possibilities of communicating online today as I was when I sent my first tweet a decade ago.

That’s not to say that I have forgotten what it was like to be starting out on this journey. There can be a steep learning curve at the beginning and it’s easy to get overwhelmed with so many tools and platforms to choose from.

If you’re new to social media marketing, or if you aren’t quite sure you are using it right, then this article is for you. I want to share with you ten of my best tips to set you up for success.

1. Set SMART Social Media Goals

I t’s no secret that goal setting increases your likelihood of social media success, yet it never ceases to amaze me how many businesses have given scant thought to creating their social media goals. Without goals, it’s hard to know exactly how well your social media marketing is performing. Clear goals will not only propel your strategy forward, but they will also serve as defined metrics when it comes to measuring your progress. Describe the specific goals and outcomes you’re seeking to accomplish with your social media activity. These should be aligned with your…

--

--